Shopping Addictions and Spending Diets

I’m a sucker for pretty, sparkly, plain, gold, cute things. These ‘things’ can be jewelry, clothing, shoes, home decor items, candles, paper, anything really. If I see a sparkly candle that smells delicious, I buy it. A new pair of snake print shoes (even though I have 3 pairs already), yes please! A white porcelain French Bulldog figurine, perfect. A cute new agenda, definitely need it!

Hi, my name is Alex and I’m addicted to shopping.

I am an impulse shopper and obsessed with online shopping. This ‘need for pretties’ is always bouncing around in my brain. It doesn’t matter where I go, I’m always looking for my next big find, whether it’s new lipstick or new picture frame. Or I will have a vision of how my room needs to look. I’m always on the lookout for something that I need in order to make my vision a reality. I guess it is slightly like an addiction because I really do love the feeling of getting a good deal (hence my addiction to online shopping – the best deals are online!).

2 years ago, after returning from a 3 week holiday to Europe, I decided to go on a spending diet. From September to December, I was not going to spend any money on any clothing. I completed my 3 months with great success. Last year, I tried it again but failed miserably. Starting on August 1st, I’m beginning my spending diet again. I will begin with a diet from clothing, then each month I’m going to add additional things to my ‘no buy’ list.

I’m doing it for a few reasons…to challenge myself and prove to myself that I can go without shopping (I did it once before!), save money (wedding is coming up and now we’re looking for a house), and work on my creativity.

Spending Diet Guidelines

  • No buying clothing from August 1, 2013 until December 31, 2013. This includes shoes, purses and items that help make clothing look good.
  • Avoid shopping malls… and Winners and Target.
  • If I *must* be in one of those 3 places, keep hands in pockets, and walk with one eye closed. That way I won’t get a very good sense of how pretty something is because it’s sort of blurry and I have to concentrate on not walking into things.
  • Stop reading fashion blogs and unfollow fashion bloggers on Instagram. If I’m not looking at pretty people in pretty clothing, I won’t feel the need to go buy the sweater and re-create their look.
  • If there is something that I like (ie. jewelry, tshirt) figure out if I can repurpose something old and make it new. (DIY, DIY, DIY)
  • Unsubscribe from my designer discount websites and delete the apps off my phone.
  • If I find myself in a store, holding a pair of shoes that I just neeeeeeed, I will call my Mom. She will ask me if I need it, I will say noooo, and then I’ll put it back and run out of the store. Note: I will allow myself to buy one pair of shoes for my wedding day. (Choose wisely, Alex!)

As time goes on, I’m sure I’ll think of other things that will need to be included in my guidelines and ways to make this process a bit easier. My first hurdle will be going 1 week without going to Winners.

Stay tuned for my next segment on my Shopping Addiction/Spending Diet journey. Next week I’m going to talk about how I’ll start saving money in other areas as well!

Do you have a shopping addiction? What would be your thing to include in your own shopping diet?

sig


Find me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, & Pinterest for latest items, special offers, and inspirations! Don’t forget to check out the Etsy Shop too!

 

One thought on “Shopping Addictions and Spending Diets

  1. Pingback: Spending Diet Part II | Alexandra Kathlyn

Leave a Note

